Concacaf Champions League

Tournament Format

The Concacaf Champions League consists of four rounds starting with the Round of 16 in February of 2020 and ending with the final in early May.

In each round, two teams face each other in a home-and-away knockout format. The team with the most combined goals at the end of both legs advances. If teams finish both legs with the same number of goals, the team with the most away goals in the round advances. In the final, a penalty shootout determines the winner if both teams are level on aggregate score and away goals at the end of both matches.

Ultimately, the tournament’s winner will face the champions of the world’s other five confederations, including the UEFA Champions League winner, in the 2020 FIFA World Club Cup.

Eight countries from around the continent will be represented in the 2020 Scotiabank Concacaf Champions League. The tournament’s breakdown by country and how they qualified is below:


United States

LAFC – 2019 Supporters’ Shield champions
Seattle Sounders – 2019 MLS Cup champions
Atlanta United – 2019 U.S. Open Cup champions
New York City FC – 2019 Eastern Conference regular-season champions


Club América – 2018 Apertura champions
Tigres UANL – 2019 Clausura champions
Cruz Azul – 2018 Apertura runners-up
León – 2019 Clausura runners-up


Montreal Impact – 2019 Canadian Championship champions


Portmore United – 2019 Concacaf Carribean Cup Championship champion

Costa Rica

Saprissa – 2019 Concacaf League champions
San Carlos – 2019 Concacaf League qualifier


Comunicaciones – 2019 Concacaf League qualifier

El Salvador

Alianza – 2019 Concacaf League qualifier


Motagua – 2019 Concacaf League qualifier
Olimpia – 2019 Concacaf League qualifier